Medical Microbiology Virology Infectious Diseases

Medical Microbiology & Virology (MMV)

Medical Microbiology/Virology training is available in London as part of joint Microbiology/Infectious Diseases training. In August 2015 training in each specialty will merge into the new Infection training scheme. The range of placements in London is unrivaled and is closely coordinated with infectious diseases providing some of the best opportunities for training in this rapidly changing field. Many trainees take advantage of the numerous out of program placements available in UK and abroad.

Infectious Diseases (ID)

London has a population of 8 million, a quarter of who were born outside Europe. When combined with major specialist centres for transplantation, complex surgery, HIV and tropical medicine, this cultural diversity provides the best learning experience for infectious diseases trainees in the UK

Academic Medicine is encouraged and many trainees step out of programme to complete research degrees and Masters programmes.

From 2015 all new posts will be appointed to dual training in either ID and MMV; or ID and General Internal Medicine (GIM); with the first two years following the new GMC curriculum of combined infection training.

Training Programme Management Commitee (TPMC) Chairs

Prof Peter Wilson

Co-TPMC chair/TPD/Consultant Microbiologist
E  Peter.wilson@uclh.nhs.uk
 02034479516

Dr Philip Gothard

Co-TPMC chair/TPD/Infectious Diseases
E  philip.gothard@gmail.com

Training Programme Directors (TPDs)

Prof Peter Wilson

TPD for Medical Microbiology
E  Peter.wilson@uclh.nhs.uk

Dr Philip Gothard

TPD for Infectious Diseases
E  philip.gothard@gmail.com

Dr Eleni Nasouli

Interim TPD for Virology

E Eleni.Nastouli@uclh.nhs.uk

Local Faculty Leads (LFLs)

Dr Eimear Brannigan (Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust) – Eimear.Brannigan@imperial.nhs.uk

Dr Angela Houston (St George’s Healthcare NHS Trust) – Angela.Houston@stgeorges.nhs.uk

Dr Sophie Collier (Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust) – sophiecollier@nhs.net

Dr John Klein (Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust) – john.klein@gstt.nhs.uk 

Dr Caryn Rosmarin (Barts Health NHS Trust) – caryn.rosmarin2@bartshealth.nhs.uk

Dr Sarah Logan (University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust) –sarah.logan@uclh.nhs.uk

Trainee Representatives

Higher Infection Training ID/GIM

Dr Emily Wise – emilysarahwise@gmail.com

Higher Infection Training ID/Virology

Dr Anna Jeffery-Smith – anna.jefferysmith@gmail.com

Higher Infection Training /Medical Microbiology

Dr Marina Basarab – basarabm@doctors.org.uk 

Higher Infection Training ID/Medical Microbiology

Dr Ruaridh Buchanan – ruaridhbuchanan@doctors.org.uk

Core Infection Training ACF

Dr Tehmina Bharucha –  tehminabharucha@gmail.com 

Core Infection Training

Dr Davina Sharma – davinaosharma@googlemail.com

Dr Sakib Rokadiya – sakib.rokadiya@gmail.com

Flexible Training

Dr Nabeela Mughal – nabmughal@aol.com

Training at UCLPartners (A trainee representatives perspective)

There is a dynamic change in the training of Infection doctors within London with the introduction of a new Infectious Diseases Curriculum.

Alongside the new curriculum will be a balanced and directed teaching programme, organised by trainees and supported by consultants.

The new Infection training will aim to deliver a new combined approach to delivering Infection advice to all areas of the Hospital.

UCLPartners Training Programmes Manager (TPM)

E  medical@uclpartners.com 

T  0203 108 2323

Healthcare Education Team (HET) at Health Education England

E IDMMV.lase@hee.nhs.uk

T 020 7866 3219

For rotations, ARCPs and Out of Programme

Rotations & Local Education Providers (LEPs)

Rotations will largely be within each Trust initially but there will be placements across London especially in the later years of training.

Simulation teaching

In Microbiology these teaching sessions are arranged locally in each hospital.

Academic training opportunities

More than half of all trainees are academic clinical fellows or clinical lecturers.

Specialty specific research and special interest opportunities

There are extensive research opportunities throughout London including London School of Hygiene and Public Health England.